Getting Closer!

The sole and instep are coming along nicely. Only about an inch to go before I start working on the toe – Yay! This part is getting a little tedious because it’s just knit, knit, knit, knit… Then I will have to start all over again to match the pair. On the next one I may make the ribbing a little bigger in the tube… we’ll see how this one comes out.

My dear friend Marisa over at Quilt Okatu gave me an awesome book for my birthday called 2-at-a-time Socks by Melissa Morgan-Oakes. I’m so excited to learn to do 2 socks at once on circular needles!! They have some really cute patterns in there as well. The first example is a pair of toddler socks, perfect for my little 2 year old! I am resisting jumping to that project rather than finishing out the pair of purple socks. My sister-in-law and I are going over to Beverly’s today to shop their 30% off all yarn sale… hopefully I don’t find anything too great because I don’t know if I can resist jumping projects 🙂

I have this old book called The Complete Book of Progressive Knitting by Ida Riley Duncan, copyright, 1940. My mom got it for me from a yard sale a long time ago… well, it turns out that it’s a collectible! I looked it up on amazon and it’s selling for $30-$40. I’m sure she paid about 25 cents or so. Not a bad investment. It’s a pretty cool book with lots of illustrations and basics of garment construction and measurements as well as a history of yarn and knitting. I’ll sprinkle in some fun knitting facts from her book.

Fun Fact #1: There is NO country in the world that does not have knitting as part of their textural work! The earlest knitting example she sites is a Peruvian band of humming birds belonging to the Prato-Nasca Culture dating before 200 A.D.

Leave a comment